Healing From An Abusive Relationship Is Difficult But Possible.

Healing from an abusive relationship is not something that is simple and easily done. I know this well because Ive been there & done that. It was many years ago but that relationship caused a lot of damage that I had to heal from. But I did heal and that is proof that you can heal, too. Healing from an abusive relationship is difficult but possible.

20140119-145828.jpg

GIVE YOURSELF TIME
Healing from an abusive relationship is not something that you do overnight, in a month or even in a year. It takes a lot of time and I believe it happens in different stages. It does get better over the course of time. But do not expect to put it behind you immediately because that is not possible. For me personally, it got better as time went on. The pain and memories lessened.

TALK ABOUT IT
Talking about it helps to a degree. I think it is helpful to talk about it as you need to, but you also want to balance that out. You do not want to get overly fixated on it or spend too much time dwelling in the past. That part of your life is over.

TAKE TIME TO HEAL
It is best to take time to heal before jumping into another relationship. It takes time to process everything that you have been through. It is also wise to take time to make sure that you are choosing someone who is nothing like the person who abused you. Sometimes your thinking is cloudy when you initially leave an abusive relationship. Use the alone time to focus on yourself and getting yourself back to wholeness before you try to meet someone new.

20140119-150552.jpg

REMIND YOURSELF YOU’RE SAFE
I remember when I first left my ex very, very well. I remember lying in bed and telling myself, “You’re safe now.” <~I didn't just share that for anyone's sympathy. I shared that because saying that helped me and it can help you, too. Remind yourself that you are safe and that part of your life is over and never to be lived again. Rest in that truth. One Love!

Enjoy the rest of your Sunday. 🙂

20140119-151218.jpg

Leave a Reply

